2011-2012 REPORT TO THE PEOPLE

The 2011-2012 school year was an outstanding one for students and staff at Williston-Elko High School. Our students achieved success individually and collectively in all areas of education, activities, and athletics. Our school received an absolute rating of average on our State Report Card and 88% of our students passed the HSAP exam. Our graduation rate was 83.5%, which was an increase of more than 19% from 2011. The drop-out rate also decreased from 3.8% to 2.5%.

Our students also excelled in many of the extra-curricular programs offered at our school. The drama team put on an outstanding production of *Brigadoon* and our band enjoyed a fine year, finishing 8th at the state competition. The Math, Speech and Debate, and Quiz Bowl teams placed high in numerous competitions. Organizations such as Student Council, Beta Club, FBLA, and others added greatly to the school environment. Our students and staff participated in numerous service activities and fundraisers to help benefit the community, such as March of Dimes, Recycling Program, two Blood Drives, and Relay for Life.

The Blue Devils also had an excellent year in athletics. Our football team made it to the Upper State Championship, finishing with a 10-3 record. Our Men's and Women's Tennis, Golf, and Football were Region Champions. We had four students sign letters of intent to attend colleges and universities as student athletes. Numerous other students were recognized for individual achievements during the school year.

Class of 2011 Scholarships

Anticipated Life Scholarship Recipients: \$20,000/Each (480,000): Na'Shima Carter, Brittany Barwick, Cyrice Bing, Ja'Kima Carter, Christie Auletta, Brittany Lacroix, Devon Miller, Brittany Mulligan, Jennifer Croft, Debon Grady, Krystal Thomas, Joseph Ryans, Brad Carson, Courtney Corley, Lorena Nuno, Justin Barfield, Tamyn Garrick, Destiny Gray, Kaitlyn Mundy, Yirka Mercado Cruz, Kelsey Mundy, Hunter Amaker, Seth Gainey, Zach Pruitt

Presbyterian College Athletic Scholarship Recipient: (\$120,000): Tamyn Garrick

Anderson Presidential Scholarship Recipient: \$10,000/Yearly (\$40,000): Zach Pruitt

Dillard Elliot Scholarship Recipient: \$8,000/Yearly (\$32,000): Tamyn Garrick

Columbia College Scholarship Recipient: \$14,000/Yearly (\$56,000) Brittany Mulligan

Palmetto-Fellows Scholarship Recipients: \$6,700Freshman/Year (7,500/ each yr. after that) (\$87,600): Jacob Nix, Chris Harvey, Shelly Kennerly

Anticipated Hope Scholarship Recipients: \$2,800 Each/ (\$28,000): Ashley Corbett, Beatrice Williams, Brittany Sanders, Cody Garrett, Ronald Palmer, Karisma Young, Zach Snider, Tanisha Gibson, Zach Stephenson, Annabelle Cooper

Clemson Trustee Scholarship Recipient: (\$10,000): Chris Harvey

Clemson Scholar Scholarship Recipient: \$2,500/Yearly (\$10,000): Jacob Nix

Wake-Field Athletic Scholarship Recipients: \$2,000/Each (\$4,000): Jacob Nix and Courtney Corley

North Greenville University Athletic Scholarship Recipient: (\$4,000): Joseph Ryans

Sam Walton Community Scholarship Recipient: (\$3,000): Chris Harvey

Clemson Freshman Engineering & Science Scholarship Recipients: \$2,988/Each (\$5,976): Chris Harvey and Jacob Nix

George E. Crouch Foundation Scholarship Recipient: (\$3,000): Christopher Harvey

Energy Solutions Scholarship Recipient: (\$2,000): Christopher Harvey

Nashville Auto-Diesel College Scholarships Recipients: \$1,000/Each (\$2,000): Marcus Williams and William Dunbar

Alex T. Clamp Scholarship Recipient: (\$1,500): Zach Pruitt

Barnwell County Career Center Scholarship Recipients: \$500/Each (\$1,500): Zach Pruitt, Brittany LaCroix, Annabelle Cooper

Ronald McDonald House Charities Scholarship Recipient: (\$1,500): Chris Harvey

Teacher Cadet Scholarship Recipient: (\$1,350): Lorena Nuno

Winthrop's Garnet & Gold Scholarship Recipient: (\$1,000): Lorena Nuno

Solomon Blat Scholarship Recipient: (\$1,000): Shelly Kennerly

General Alumni Association of Kelly Edwards Scholarship Recipient: (\$1,000): Karisma Young

Chem-Nuclear Scholarship Recipient: (\$1,000): Jacob Nix

Big Seven Association Scholarship Recipient: (\$1,000): Justin Barfield

Steve Hoefs Memorial Scholarship Recipient: (\$875): Zach Pruitt

Beta Club Scholarship for Semi-finalist: (\$750): Chris Harvey

Joe Kelly Scholarship Recipient: (\$500): Na'Shima Carter

Grablowsky Valedictorian Scholarship Recipient: (\$400): Chris Harvey

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Scholarship Recipient: (\$500): Na'Shima Carter

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Mentee/Scholarship Recipient: (\$400): D'varius Hosey

Total Scholarship Amount: \$933,851