#### **SIC Annual Goals**

The faculty and staff of Ewing
Middle School will build an effective
professional learning community that
emphasizes best practices in teaching
adolescents by participating in staff
professional development
opportunities, by completing student
centered coaching cycles, and by
doing peer observations.

The faculty and staff of Ewing Middle School will promote a positive school climate by increasing the number of parents satisfied with the learning environment, the social/physical environment, and homeschool relations by a percentage point each year from 2020-21 to 2024-25.

The students of Ewing Middle School will show continued growth on SC READY Math and SC READY ELA each year. At Ewing, we are committed to encouraging, inspiring, and supporting the growth of every child. We strive to create a safe and positive environment where students reach their academic potential, build strong character, and prepare for future success in high school, college, career, or the military. Our focus is on developing the whole child and ensuring each student feels valued and cared for every day.

## **Ewing Middle School SIC Members**

Chair: Ms. Nancy Jo McConnell

Ms. Nicole Graham

Dr. Rebecca Spencer

Mrs. Nicole Owens

Mrs. Denise Martin

Mrs. Amy Spencer

Ex-officio: Dr. Alan Ruppe

#### **Purpose of the Report**

"This report is issued by the John E. Ewing Middle School Improvement Council in accordance with South Carolina law to share information on the school's progress in meeting various goals and objectives, the work of the SIC, and other accomplishments during the school year."



### **Ewing Middle School**

Annual School Improvement Council

Report to the People

2024 - 2025

I Matter You Matter We Matter

Dr. Alan Ruppe, Principal

Mr. Allen Cobb, Asst. Principal

171 East Junior High Road Gaffney, SC 29340 (864) 206–2449 ems.cherokee1.org

#### **Student Achievements**

**Junior Scholars**Levi Daws

Ewing's Spelling Bee Winner: Skylar Kirby Runner up: Taleah Cumberlander

The Ewing Middle School
Football Team was Division 2
Foothills Conference
Champions.

Kahne Ruppe won the Foothills Athletic Conference Division 2 Player of the Year.

Dr. Kalani LaFrancis - Ewing's 2023-2024 Distinguished Literacy Teacher of the Year.

Mr. Zachary Gilliland - Ewing's 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year.

Mrs. Tina Byars - Ewing's 2023-2024 Support Staff of the Year.

#### **Student Achievement**

Each spring, the SC READY assessment is administered to evaluate students in the areas of English Language Arts (Reading and Writing) and Mathematics. Sixth grade students are also assessed in Science. Scores are reported as scale scores and categorized into four performance levels: Exceeds Expectations, Meets Expectations, Approaches Expectations, and Does Not Meet Expectations. This data is used as a baseline to set and guide our current school improvement goals.

# Test Results for the 2023-2024 School Year

SC Ready	ELA	Math
Ewing	34.2%	16.1%

SC Ready	ELA	Math
Grade 6	32.5%	18%
Grade 7	31.3%	13.2%
Grade 8	36.6%	15.4%

SC Ready	Science
Ewing	NR

#### **Student Achievements**

Ewing Middle Chorus received a \$1,500 grant from the Peter R.

Marsh Foundation.

The Ewing Middle School Band and Choir each received a \$2,500 grant from the SC Arts

Commission.

The Cherokee County Middle Schools combined concert band received and excellent rating at SC Concert Performance Assessment and a Superior Rating at Music in the Parks Festival in Atlanta.

**Ewing Middle School Winners Young Writer's Gala** 

6<sup>th</sup> - 8<sup>th</sup> Grade Poetry Winners

1<sup>st</sup> place – Alivia DeRuvo

2<sup>nd</sup> place – Tovie Robbs

3<sup>rd</sup> place – Autumn Smith

6<sup>th</sup> – 8<sup>th</sup> Grade Prose Winners
1<sup>st</sup> place – Mary Harrington

District 6<sup>th</sup> – 8<sup>th</sup> Grade Prose Winner 2<sup>nd</sup> place –Mary Harrington