### Recognitions

#### Curricular:

- \* Solomon Helms-Junior Scholar
- \* Jasmine Howard-Spelling Bee Winner
- \* Tyler Pearson-Geo Bee winner, qualified for state competition
- \* Gary Holland-DAR Regional Essay Contest winner
- Junior Beta Convention winners Solomon Helms- S.C. State Reporter Brooks Skipper- 1st place Woodworking Jada Wilson, Chelsie Davis and Chamika Davis- 2<sup>nd</sup> place banner competition
- Science Fair overall winners 1<sup>st</sup> Brooks Skipper 2<sup>nd</sup> Brandon Tiesing 3<sup>rd</sup> Grayson Basily
- \* Twelve students placed at Pee Dee Regional Science Fair at Francis Marion University
- Duke Top Participants: Emily Graham, Garrett Fravor
- EXPLORE testing Solomon Helms-Perfect score Nine students met benchmark in all four areas

Three students met benchmark in three areas

This test indicates college readiness

#### Extra-Curricular:

- Competitive Cheerleading team-Region Champs
- Academic Challenge team -5<sup>th</sup> in regional meet
- ➤ Boys basketball-1<sup>st</sup> in region

#### Grants received

- Higher Education Awareness Program Grant-HEAP
- Francis Marion Center of Excellence Outreach Project Grant
- Target Field Trip Grant
- Horace Mann Grant

Preparing students for High School and Beyond!

# Goals 2014-2015

#### Curriculum:

- ♦ Improve PASS met and exemplary rate by 3%
- ♦ Improve PASS exemplary rate by 5%
- ♦ Continue to have 100% Algebra I EOC passage rate
- ♦ Continue Professional Learning Communities
- ♦ Continue collaborative planning
- ♦ Continue Instructional Rounds
- ♦ Continue to update Data Room
- Continue administering benchmarks and item analysis by teachers & students
- ♦ Continue teacher-student MAP conferences
- ♦ Continue school-wide writing prompts

#### School Environment:

- ♦ Continue Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS)
- ♦ Continue award programs
- ♦ Continue school assemblies
- ♦ Continue Student of the Week
- ♦ Continue positive referrals
- ♦ Continue a PASS preparation parent night
- ♦ Continue PASS rally
- Continue to reduce discipline referrals
- ♦ Continue Sunday night phone messages
- ♦ Continue to update website and Facebook pages
- ♦ Continue the bimonthly newsletter
- ♦ Continue weekly club time

#### Our school today

Johnakin Middle School is accredited by the South Carolina Association of Colleges and Schools. Enrollment is presently 565 students.

# Johnakin Middle School



Annual Report to the Parents 2013-2014

601 Gurley Street Marion, South Carolina 29571 843-423-8360 843-423-8383 (fax)

http://jms.marion.k12.sc.us/

bford@marion.k12.sc.us

Marion County School District
Rebecca P. Ford, Principal
Sharron Crowner, Assistant Principal
Dr. Dionne Vance, Curriculum Facilitator

# **Enrichment Opportunites**

- ※ Beta Club
- Early college visits
   Coastal Carolina, Morris, Francis Marion, Florence Darlington
- \* Eighth grade visit to Marion High School
- \* Quarterly award programs
- ※ Positive referrals
- \* Students of the week
- \* Academic Challenge
- \* Honor Guard
- \* Morning News Program
- \* Gentlemen's League Club
- \* Ladies First Club
- **☀** Apple STEM
- \* Academic After School
- \* Service Learning Club
- \* Healthy Living Club

- ★ Step Team
- \* Line Dancing Club
- ★ Select 8<sup>th</sup> graders take PSAT
- **☀** PASS exemplary pull-out
- ※ Veteran's Day Program
- \* JMS spirit band

Mission Statement
The mission of Johnakin Middle School is to create and maintain an environment that ensures that every member of the school community reaches a high level of academic achievement as defined by school, local, state, and national standards and goals. We commit to providing a comprehensive system of support to assure student progress.

# **School History**

Johnakin School began its history as the Marion County

Training School located on East Liberty Street in Marion presently

named Gilesboro Annex with Mr. Milbia Johnakin as Principal. In 1954,
the current building was erected and the Marion County Training School
relocated to this facility. The Marion County Training School Class of
1960 petitioned to have the school's name changed to Johnakin High
School. The petition was granted and the name was officially changed in
1961. Johnakin remained a high school until 1970-71, the year Marion
County schools fully integrated. That year, Johnakin became the
District's Jr. High School housing 9th and 10th grades.

In 1975-76,  $9^{th}$  and  $10^{th}$  grades were moved to the new high school and Johnakin became Johnakin Middle School for  $7^{th}$  and  $8^{th}$  grade students. In 1994, a new wing was added to the building and the 6th grade class was added. To date, Johnakin Middle School serves the  $6^{th}$  through  $8^{th}$  grade students from Marion County School District's Area 1.

Past administrators include Mr. E. L. Irick, Mr. Andrew
Eaddy, Mr. Lannie Edwards, Ms. Larnie Lewers, Mrs. Matrell Sturkey,
Mrs. Teresa Taylor, Dr. Gerard S. Edwards, Mrs. Patrice Davis Holmes,
Mr. Jason Bryant, Ms. Shalah Sweeney and our present principal, Mrs.
Rebecca Ford. Johnakin School has had a long and interesting history. It
has helped develop many distinguished alumni and will continue to help
develop many more.

The history of Johnakin School continues to be written each and every day. We celebrate our history, our successes and our contributors.



#### **Our Beliefs**

All students are capable of learning.

Instruction should address different learning styles, meet students at various levels of comprehension and make a connection to other subject areas.

Assessment should be varied and meet the child's levels of understanding, occur in different forms, and should be used to decide if the students are ready to move to the next lesson of student mastery.

Faculty, staff and students should be considered in all decision making.

Students and all JMS employees should follow the rules and guiding principles given to us by the local, state and federal educational agencies.

Assessment of students' needs should drive instructional decisions.

# 2013-2014 School Improvement Council

Mrs. Sharron Crowner, Assistant Principal
Rev. Bennie Davis, Community Member
Mrs. Erika Draper, Community Member
Mrs. Rebecca Ford, Principal
Mrs. Natalie Grover, Chairperson
Mr. Wallace Foxworth, Teacher
Mr. Alfred McFadden, Community
Member

Mrs. Vernetta McNeil, Secretary Ms. Sharonda Sampson, Teacher Mr. Antonio Vaught, Vice-Chairperson